SuperMokh Cup 2017- battleground of elite talents

KUALA LUMPUR: The SuperMokh Cup, an international invitational championship continues on into its 4th edition this 13th to 17th December; as once again the nations’ elite players measure up themselves against their foreign counterparts.

This year sees another change towards this age-group tournament with only 24 teams involved this time around, but in three categories.

According to NFDP’s Chief Executive Officer, Safirul Azli Abu Bakar, the local talent, composed of players from the Mokhtar Dahari National Football Academy (AMD), should take full advantage of the opportunity presented to them by this tournament.

“The nations’ challenge rests upon these elite AMD squads. The players must take this opportunity to measure themselves up against the would-be stars of world football and this their best chance to see how they match up on the international stage.

Each category will feature academy teams from Europe and Asia which has a proven record in producing world class stars. The local players just have to turn in their best performance and learn from this experience” quips Safirul, who also confirmed the appearance of England’s Arsenal FC academy team for this year, a team which needs no introduction when it comes to producing world class talents.

Safirul also admits that the organizers had to turn down a lot of teams’ request to enter this year’s SuperMokh Cup.

“The organizers received a lot of response from academies all over the world asking to be included into this year’s edition. There were some who went further by requesting matches and tournaments to be organized for them by us.

However, we have to be selective and choose teams who are of high standards for this tournament to ensure competitiveness for the local players, which is the reason why this competition came about in the first place”.

Defending Under- 12 champions Sporting CP will feature, as will French side Paris Saint Germain, who will complete in two categories, the under-13s and under-14s.Sporting CP’s academy gave the world superstars such as Cristiano Ronaldo, Luis Figo, Nani and Ricardo Quaresma. PSG meanwhile, launched the careers of French stars Nicolas Anelka and Mamadou Sakho.

SuperMokh 2017 sees last year’s under-12 and under-14 category retained with the under-13 category reintroduced. Each category will feature 8 teams.

The Bukit Jalil National Stadium, Kuala Lumpur will host the opening and final of the tournament, with other venues being the National Sports Council Bukit Jalil (synthetic field), National Sports Complex Panasonic Shah Alam and Maybank Academy Bangi.

The opening game for all three categories commences on Wednesday (December 13th) and ends with the final on Sunday (December 17th)

Stations Fly FM, Hot FM and Koo lFM are named as the official radio stations of the tournament.


SuperMokh Cup 2017 (Under12, Under13 & Under14)- 13-17 December 2017

Participating Teams

Under-14 Category (Born in 2003)

  • AMD Malaysia Cougars*
  • AMD Malaysia Panthers*
  • Paris Saint Germain (France)
  • Arsenal FC (England)
  • FC Mito Hollyhock (Japan)
  • Gyeongnam FC (Korea Republic)
  • Aspire Academy(Qatar)
  • Foolad Sepahan(IR Iran)

Under-13 Category (Born in 2004)

  • AMD Malaysia Cougars*
  • AMD Malaysia Panthers*
  • Paris Saint Germain(France)
  • AZ Alkmaar(Holland)
  • Urawa Red Diamonds(Japan)
  • Gyeongnam FC (Korea Republic)
  • Buriram united(Thailand)
  • FF South Australia(Australia)

Under-12 Category(Born in in 2005)

  • AMD Malaysia Cougars*
  • AMD Malaysia Panthers*
  • HNK Hajduk Split(Croatia)
  • Sporting CP(Portugal)
  • Kashima Antlers(Japan)
  • JJ Football Academy(Korea Republic)
  • Aspire Academy(Qatar)
  • FF South Australia(Australia)

*AMD Malaysia stands for National Football Academy Mokhtar Dahari(AMD), a centralized national elites centre for players in the 13 to 17 age group based in Gambang, Pahang.


Tournament Venues

  1. National Stadium Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur
  2. National Sports Council Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur
  3. Panasonic Sports Complex, Shah Alam
  4. Maybank Academy, Bangi


Past Winners  

2014 (Under 12 Category): Pohang Steelers (South Korea)

2015 (Under 12 Category): Malaysia Cougars(Malaysia)

(Under 13 Category): Manchester City FC (England)

2016 (Under 12 Category): Sporting CP (Portugal)

(Under 14 Category): Malaysia Cougars(Malaysia)


Artikel berkaitan

Leave a Reply